Concepts And Planning: FMP

(This is a repost from a different section of my blog posted last month)

Following a test shoot 2 weeks ago and a tutorial with Diane Bielik, we were reminded that as photographers we are visual people. There is absolutely nothing wrong with planning shoots, refining concepts and evaluation with words but we need to plan visually.

How do you that?

By putting together a series of test images and printing them out! Images behave very differently on the computer screen than on Instagram, your online portfolio or a studio wall. Think about your end result. If your exhibition will be on a wall or in a gallery, it is pointless to have your collection on a folder on your computer and scramble to curate your work on a wall/physical space a week before the exhibition.I was advised to put together a working edit of prints (and negatives) I had from my previous exhibition that has been extended and see how they interact. I will admit, I was very hesitant to do it because it would remind me of how much more work I have to do and improve. I got over myself and did it and the change happened instantly!

Notice how this was arranged, purely on what visually looked good together. I walked away from the wall space, came back 5 minutes later, did some rearranging and then this happened…

Notice how with minimal rearranging, the set of images become more balanced and already the ‘pairs’ or ‘triplets’ that should move together are being formed. I went on to refine this set of images, reject two and note down what the collection need more of but what I learnt was so powerful I had to share. We as photographers are visual people, do not be afraid to do this type of proofing with your series work, the results will change your practice forever.

Leave a Reply

